You found the Portal to our Magical Realm

Shopping cart

Your cart is currently empty

Product image slideshow Items

  • OBOB 22/23: Girl in the Blue Coat - Paperback

OBOB 22/23: Girl in the Blue Coat - Paperback

$9.89
Incl. tax

On a routine delivery, Mrs. Janssen asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that she wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by her plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace. Ages 13-17.

The rating of this product is 0 out of 5

(0)
In stock (Delivery timeframe:1-3 days)

The bestselling, "gripping" (Entertainment Weekly), "powerful" (Hypable), "utterly thrilling" (Paste.com) winner of the Edgar Award for Best Young Adult Mystery, perfect for readers of Kristin Hannah and Ruta Sepetys

Amsterdam, 1943. Hanneke spends her days procuring and delivering sought-after black market goods to paying customers, her nights hiding the true nature of her work from her concerned parents, and every waking moment mourning her boyfriend, who was killed on the Dutch front lines when the Germans invaded. She likes to think of her illegal work as a small act of rebellion.

On a routine delivery, a client asks Hanneke for help. Expecting to hear that Mrs. Janssen wants meat or kerosene, Hanneke is shocked by the older woman's frantic plea to find a person--a Jewish teenager Mrs. Janssen had been hiding, who has vanished without a trace from a secret room. Hanneke initially wants nothing to do with such dangerous work, but is ultimately drawn into a web of mysteries and stunning revelations that lead her into the heart of the resistance, open her eyes to the horrors of the Nazi war machine, and compel her to take desperate action.

Beautifully written, intricately plotted, and meticulously researched, Girl in the Blue Coat is an extraordinary novel about bravery, grief, and love in impossible times.

Don't miss The War Outside and They Went Left , two more gripping historical novels by Monica Hesse

 

We are offering 10% off the list price of titles on the 2022/2023 school year Oregon Battle of the Books lists! The paperback's typical price is $9.99. Girl in the Blue Coat is in OBOB's 9th-12th grade division. 

 

Author: Monica Hesse

Paperback, 320 pages, Ages 13-17. Publisher: Little, Brown Books, April 4, 2017. 9780316260633

9780316260633 / amsterdam / black market / death / historical / holocaust / missing persons / mystery / netherlands / obob 22/23 / thriller / world war 2 / ww2
0 stars based on 0 reviews
Add your review

You might also like